top of page
Search
jennibean6996

Twas the morning before Thanksgiving

And all through the house, not a creature was stirring, not even a mouse.


I'm laying in my bed...not nearly as unmotivated as I normally am upon waking up. I have so many things to do today and cannot shake my mind right to get it all done. I am excellent under pressure though. Todays to do list is to organize my oven schedule for Friday, since I do my Thanksgiving on Saturday. Put away 3 loads of laundry. Finish one afghan. I need to go to work. Need is a big word. I should go to work. It's on the way to my mother's anyway, so it all works out.


I am feeling a smidge of anxiety because my sister fucked my day up for tomorrow. I never do anything on Thanksgiving, because my family has a lot of moving pieces and kids have places to be. I don't get hyper attached to the "day of" like other people do. I am happy any time I can have dinner with my kids, so this particular day isn't a big deal to me. I typically don't do anything with my mother or father for Thanksgiving or Christmas for that matter. This year is different. My sister was supposed to take my mother for day. She bailed in the 11th hour, saying it was too much work. Yet, I am taking her on Saturday for my turkey celebration, and not thinking it is too much work. The difference is that she truly is a cunt. Over my dead body would I spend Thanksgiving or any other holiday with my sister. Sadly, my mother wanted us to all be together, and my response was " we wouldn't have all been together had you not a stroke, why would we do something different now". That may sound awful, but...my mother is 71 years old, and for most of my life she has put gas on a fire between my sister and I, that never needed to burn. It isn't my responsibility now to make her feel better about those actions. If anything, this has all been a valuable lesson on how one's actions effect the long game. I am caring for my mother because I know the difference between right and wrong, but I am not breaking bread with my sister because someone had a stroke. My mental health is more important than that.


So, I will be with you guys in some side hustle land on Thanksgiving, with the exception on the bedtime hours where I will go and be with my mother. A part of me feels really bad that she will be in the nursing home all day, and not with her family, but she would have been with my sister. I would never have even seen her on Thanksgiving had she not had a stroke. My sister is choosing to just leave her there. She could at least take her to dinner somewhere...but she won't. That's just too much work for her.


So, it's the day before Thanksgiving and I am not going to get caught up in dysfunctional family dynamics. I am going to chillax and end the evening with an 8 p.m. manicure. Totally outside of my wheel house to do anything at 8 p.m., but YOLO - I'm going to treat myself. I also scheduled a haircut (finally) for December 2nd, so you guys won't have to listen to me say on cam, over and over, that I need a haircut. Salon gift cards are always welcome >> PENZONE Salons + Spas | Buy Gift Cards + eGift Cards jennibean6996@yahoo.com


For those of you who will be enjoying your family this holiday week, you are lucky to have that experience. Enjoy it. For those of you who aren't, I'm around - shoot me an email if you get lonely or find me somewhere online.


Thankful for all of you!





40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Live...from the metal box

This is the subject line of my streaming from Sunday on this week. Things to remember during metal box streams: They are non-nude, but...

The vacay and beyond

I am heading home tomorrow. 2 weeks-ish will never be long enough, especially when I work on vacay (it's a sickness, I know). Most of...

See you when I see you!

It's not forever, it's vacation! And there is a pretty good chance you will see me in the mornings, enjoying the crashing of the waves...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page